The Auctor Trilogy Review

at

When seventeen-year-old Addie Auctor’s mother is murdered by her father, she must confront many secrets that her family has hidden from her. The worst of these secrets is that Addie’s father, Donovan Hawthorne, is still hunting Addie because of an ancient blood feud between her mother’s family, the Auctors, and her father’s family, the House of Hawthorne. In order to be protected from the House of Hawthorne, Addie and her brother, Augustus, are sent to Initiation at an exclusive University, the Wicked Cabal.
Initiation is nothing like Addie expects. She is immediately separated from Augustus and thrown in with four complete strangers – Fallon, Maddox, Liam, and Tempe. Addie must try to forge friendships with her fellow Initiates while they solve clues, battle mystical creatures, and explore increasingly dangerous places.

After Addie’s mum dies, she’s thrown into an unknown world full of magic, monsters and secrets. She’s forced to go through a school initiation with a group of strangers whilst not being told anything, except that her father wants her dead.

I thought Addie was very brave jumping straight into this world without any information other than that her father has killed her mother. I wouldn’t have had that much trust to let anyone take me straight into an unknown world. I thought this was a tad unrealistic but who knows what we’d do in those circumstances and if our lives were under supposed threat. It was a good plot device though, as it meant we as readers didn’t know why things were happening either.

I loved Addie so much. I don’t think I’ve loved many characters more than I love Addie. I honestly thought about her and her life for days after finishing this book. It was all I could think about. As for the other characters, I couldn’t stand Addie’s brother Augustus. I thought he was horrible and controlling over Addie. It infuriated me so much. And the twist with Fallon – wow! I wasn’t expecting that. I also loved Addie’s friendship with Tempe, it felt so genuine.

I liked the inclusion of the flash back to Constance, it made me have so many questions. I still do, so I can’t wait for the next one. The challenges they faced were shocking and brutal for a school initiation but I loved how they faced them head-on with determination. Plus, there was a dragon. In my opinion, you can’t beat dragons (even if they’re evil). This book was brilliantly written and had me so gripped that I read this book in a matter of days (which for me in exam season, is an achievement). I would 10/10 recommend.

If this has interested you, I would totally recommend that you go buy a copy here.

If you’ve read this book before, let me know what you thought in the comments – I’d love to know.

Note: I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

