YALC 2017 Round-up Part 1

Last Saturday and Sunday I attended YALC (the young adult literature convention) at Olympia in London. This year was my third year attending and was once again amazing! This is my round up of the Saturday of the event.

20170729_164719

When I arrived on the Saturday (having had so many train troubles on my journey up) I met up with Alex from Inked Books and after obtaining a proof of The Fandom we wondered around the amazing stands. The publisher stands this year were amazing and had definitely upped their game since last year with MyKindaBook’s summer fete my favourite by far. I also loved Hot Key Book’s stand where I swapped two books for Ink and Catalyst in the book swap. I then realised Alice Broadway was signing so I got her to sign Ink.

20170730_162530

In the afternoon I went to Justina Robson’s creative writing workshop where we looked at writing a remix of the 3 little pigs story. It was really fun and interesting. I then went to the Samantha Shannon signing before attending the Magic, Myths and Fairy-tale panel. It was really interesting hearing all the authors favourite myths. I then also got some of the lovely authors of Change Book to sign my copy.

I then attended the first ever #teenbloggerschat meet-up. I got to meet all the awesome bloggers that I chat too on Twitter (almost) every Sunday. We had a great laugh, chatting books and wishing one of the moderators a Merry Christmas as he couldn’t attend (which wasn’t awkward to film in July at all…) I then went to Peadar Ó Guilín’s signing before heading down to the LFCC area for my photoshoot with Mark Sheppard. After waiting around and trying to work out how the photoshoot worked, I finally got my photo with Mark Sheppard AKA Crowley from my favourite TV show Supernatural. It was so amazing!

So, that’s my round up of my Saturday at YALC. My round-up of my time at YALC on the Sunday will be up soon. In the meantime, did you go to YALC this year? What was your favourite event of the weekend?

 

 

3 thoughts on “YALC 2017 Round-up Part 1

  1. Looks like you had a great time! I didn’t go to YALC as I had a poor experience of it in 2014 and have been put off since, but I’m thinking maybe next year if I can pluck up the courage! The remix of the 3 little pigs sounds like it could have resulted in some interesting ideas too haha

    Charlotte @ Bookmarks and Blogging

    Like

  2. Pingback: YALC 2017 round-up Part 2 | Probability Reading

Leave a Reply

