Review – Seed

seedFifteen-year-old Pearl has lived her whole life protected within the small community at Seed, where they worship Nature and idolise their leader, Papa S. When some outsiders arrive, everything changes. Pearl experiences feelings that she never knew existed and begins to realise that there is darkness at the heart of Seed. A darkness from which she must escape, before it’s too late

This book is absolutely amazing! I’ve never read a book quicker out of being so gripped. It was sad, thought-provoking and mind opening. It made me feel lucky especially with my periods (If you’ve read it you know what I mean). The introduction was so unusual but I loved it, it was certainty an effective way of getting the reader hooked fast.

The characters were fabulous too. Pearl was so innocent and loving. It’s easy to see why she believed Papa S, having never known any different. Papa S (and the Kindreds), however, are disgusting. Their manipulative actions to abuse these people is abominable. Lisa has perfectly created two opposite characters who are easy to love and hate.

And that ending! The ambiguity hurt me as I need to know what happens. But it does mean that I can form my own ending and decided myself what I want to happen to them. (Though I seriously want to know!)

I’ve loved Lisa’s writing so much that I can’t wait to read her other two books, however I don’t know which to start first. Comment below whether you think I should read Paper Butterflies next or Flight of a Stirling.

 

One thought on “Review – Seed

  1. I read this maybe two years ago now and I’m still not over that ending! I don’t think I ever will be. One of my fave books. Thanks for linking this up to the British Books Challenge. Do check out Lisa’s other books as her writing is stunning x

    Like

Leave a Reply

