Waterstones event with Lisa Heathfield

LHEOn Saturday 15th July I went to my local Waterstones for a talk and signing with YA author Lisa Heathfield who has written the books Seed, Paper Butterflies and Flight of a Starling. Here is my round up of the event.

LHM

Lisa talked to us about her books, her writing methods and her writing tips. Lisa told us that whilst she writes by hand, she doesn’t plot out her books. She very kindly showed us the notepad of her draft of Seed which was magnificent. I’ve never seen a notebook so neatly written in with so few crossings out or additions in the side of the page. My notepads are usually a mess.

Lisa also gave us some wonderful tips for aspiring writers and then kindly signed our books. I already own a copy of Seed but whilst I was there I also brought Paper Butterflies and Flight of a Sterling. I am very ready to cry when I read these. I have tissues ready.

This was my first author event that isn’t YALC and it was so good. It may have been small but the personal feel was lovely. Thanks again to Lisa Heathfield and to Portsmouth Watersones for organising the event.

Have you been to any non-YALC author events? Let me know in the comments – I’d love to hear about it.

 

Leave a Reply

