Beautiful Broken Things – Review

 

BBTBest friends Caddy and Rosie are inseparable. Their differences have brought them closer, but as she turns sixteen Caddy begins to wish she could be a bit more like Rosie – confident, funny and interesting. Then Suzanne comes into their lives: beautiful, damaged, exciting and mysterious, and things get a whole lot more complicated. As Suzanne’s past is revealed and her present begins to unravel, Caddy begins to see how much fun a little trouble can be. But the course of both friendship and recovery is rougher than either girl realizes, and Caddy is about to learn that downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard is a heart-breaking book that explores deep female friendships in a honest way.

I really liked this book a lot; the plot, the characters and their relationships were brilliant and formed really well. Sometimes I found it difficult to read their arguments between the friends as they felt a bit over-the-top however I could see the importance in the plot. To be fair though, I bet if you wrote my arguments down they would be very dramatic too. 😛 I loved the fact that the girls could still remain close friends despite these fall-outs. It made me glad of my own friendship groups’ bond and banter.

Caddy is such a sympathetic character, you can feel her pain as she tries to navigate the complications of teenage friendships, self-expectations and unexpected chapters. Her relationship with both her friends and family are brilliantly developed, especially her riffs with her parents which felt so real. It’s definitely something that teens can resonate with.

This book has such a bitter sweet ending which was beautiful and sad. I cried. I cried so much. Sara Barnard, why did you have to break my heart?!?!

Overall, Beautiful Broken Things is a beautiful, eye-opening contemporary book that is seriously outstanding. I absolutely loved this book, and it certainty lived up to my expectations. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves YA.

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Beautiful Broken Things – Review

  1. Hear hear! I loved this book for exactly the same reasons as you, and you can trust Sara Barnard to deal brilliantly with relationships between teenagers. She so understands! I really liked Caddy’s naivety and how things happened around her – she was a really good choice of narrator. And what a title!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

