Remade – Review

remade.jpgLeon and his younger sister, Grace, have recently moved to London from New York and are struggling to settle into their new school when rumours of an unidentified virus in Africa begin to fill the news. Within a week the virus hits London. The siblings witness people turning to liquid before their eyes, and they run for their lives. A month after touching Earth’s atmosphere the virus has assimilated the world’s biomass.

But the virus isn’t their only enemy, and survival is just the first step . . .

Since I read the first Time Riders book, I’ve loved Alex Scarrow’s writing, so when last year I saw he was releasing a new series, I got really excited. I’ve finally got round to reading it and OMG it is terrifying. It seems that, currently, I am drawn to books/TV where a deadly virus spreads quickly. And jeez this one is horrific. Alex Scarrow does not hold back on description (the toilet scene) and it really is disgusting, gory and creepy. I didn’t overly understand all the science bits but it did make the virus seem more real, which is terrifying; this virus is the scariest, most unnatural thing. We’d all be dead if it was real. *shudders*

I love the relationship between Leon and Grace. I feel like it’s a sibling relationship done right with the correct balance of love, hate and teasing. Leon steps up to a leadership role when things go wrong and wants to protect his sister with all of his heart. It was so nice to read. As someone who has a younger sibling, it made me realise I would do anything to keep them safe. The ending, however, was heart wrenching. WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DO THAT SCARROW?! WHY?? I think I sobbed like a baby for a good few minutes. I was glad however when karma was served. I don’t want to spoil anything but the character in question is a very rude word I shouldn’t put on here.

Whilst it ended on a cliff-hanger, I didn’t feel too annoyed. I think I was too sad to feel anything else. I really enjoyed this book and thought it was amazingly written with description so detailed I was afraid I might throw up if I imagined it too much. Reborn (book 2) is out in June and you can bet that I will be getting my hands on a copy to find out what other horrors Alex Scarrow has in store for the characters, and us readers, next.

2 thoughts on “Remade – Review

  1. Pingback: British Books Challenge 2017 | Probability Reading

Leave a Reply

