Solitaire Review

solitaire.jpgIn case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

Tori Spring is a sixth former who hates life. She doesn’t care about most things, except for her brothers. This story shows her as she tries to survive sixth form, her thoughts and her friends. Alice’s writing was really gripping, I was constantly wondering who Solitaire was. I had a few suspects in mind yet I was wrong. No surprise there – I’d be a pants Sherlock Holmes. I was a tad surprised at who the culprits were but I’m not sure whether I believed they could have gone to that extreme for the stated reason. But as this is fiction, it added to the shock of who and why.

I liked having the insight into Tori’s thoughts. I’ve never seen the thoughts of a pessimist before so it was interesting for me to see how careless they were. It is great to see a book where mental health isn’t romanticised. It seems like Alice really did her research. I also liked the fact that Tori goes to sixth form. It really resonated with me as someone who is of a similar age at a sixth firm college. It was nice to have a character take both maths and English A levels like me. I find this as a rare thing (or so institutions told me when I applied). Above all though, my favourite part of the book was Tori’s relationship with her brothers (especially Charlie). Not only is she there for them, they are there for her. It made me have all the feels. All the feels I tell you.

This is the first book I’ve read from Alice Oseman and it certainly lives up to the hype. I will definitely be reading more books from Alice in the future and I recommend that you pick one up too.

One thought on “Solitaire Review

Leave a Reply

